A LETTER TO THE LABOUR PARTY

A concise, heart-felt and pertinent reflection of how I imagine the majority of left-leaning Labour supporters currently feel – abandoned, but crying out for a glimmer of hope.

Feedthemoon's Blog

It has become noticeable in recent years that there is an increasing disconnect between the Labour Party and the very people it should be representing.
Tony Blair’s so-called Third Way may have won over many disaffected Tory voters in the 1990’s, but ‘New’ Labour also lost much of their core-support along the way, including me. I believe during this period Labour in effect sold its soul, by embracing a social-democratic brand of neo-liberalism. This was the point when I became lost to the Labour Party.
I have not forgotten how New Labour during its tenure introduced authoritarian civil-liberty curbing legislation at break-neck speed. Blair’s so-called humanitarian-interventionism bought chaos to the Middle East and resentment at home. Back in 2003, despite being a life-long Labour supporter I found myself marching against them in London, my city of birth. I know there were many tens, maybe hundreds of thousands like me who…

View original post 450 more words

Leave a Reply

